Finished Calavera Pin

I decided that the beads added the right shape, texture and colour to finish…It was difficult to sew through the two layers of the fleece (3/4 of it was done on the machine) and even after switching needles a few times I realised it was just going to be that way. The yellow bead on top isn’t really crooked- I knocked it that way when taking the photo. While beading actually, I remembered a tiny bit of beaded embroidery that I did on a skirt for a friend’s Puja two summers ago and considering how I’ve enjoyed the process and outcome both times, I am going to try and do a bit more embroidery work. I really like how such a small input can change the look of something and make it look loved and crafted (not “crafty”).

Hand embroidered felt skull | Riotflower's Realm

Leave a Reply

