Happy Valentine’s Day!

We celebrated our V-day early this year, on Thursday. Partner made a delicious chef’s salad and I made chocolate cake! After eating we spent the evening playing Monopoly and Scrabble- a very nice date night! We enjoyed not worrying about gifts or cards- and created online photo collages for each other instead. How’s that for no waste? With my thesis taking up most of my time, it was fantastic to just spend so much uninterrupted time relaxing and re-connecting. 

choc v-day cake

This is my go-to recipe whenever I want to make choc. cupcakes or cake (scroll down for the recipe). Since my partner couldn’t find any conversation hearts or anything sort of Valentine’s-ey, I used some swedish fish we received in a package. In the second photo, you can see my scrabble hand, our holiday table cloth and a necklace my mom made me when I was in elementary school. I still wear it every year!

scrabble and bead necklace

 

Chocolate Cake Recipe – I got this from some company’s packaging at some point…I think

1 & 3/4 C flour
2C sugar3/4C cocoa
1 & 1/2 ts baking powder
1 & 1/2 ts baking soda
1 ts salt
2 eggs
1C milk
1/2C oil

2 ts vanilla

1C boiling water

Combine dry ingredients. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla. Beat. (I just do this step by hand). Stir in boiling water. Pour thin batter into greased and floured pan. It specifies 13 by 9 by 2 inch or two 9 inch rounds. I just used a 10 inch or so spring form. Bake at 350F for 30-35 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes in pan, then remove to cool completely.
We found that 22 minutes for cupcakes is perfect in our fan assisted oven and somewhere in the upper 20s was perfect for the cake.

Leave a Reply

