Crochet lace swatching

Edited to add: I have posted the directions to my lace here.

I’ve been playing around with crochet lace for a linen blouse I plan to sew,  modifying the Fan Bookmark pattern. On the right is what started out as the regular pattern as I gradually dropped stitches to get it to a width I wanted.

crochet lace for linen

The left is what I’ve ended up with. I’m still not sure if I am going to sew this on in a vertical strip down the shirt (think of a guayabera) or if it will be slanted horizontally as if on the shirt’s yoke. The hook is 1.75 mm and the thread is cotton size 10 (South Maid is the brand).

 

13 thoughts on “Crochet lace swatching

  1. Looks great! When I was at in-service this week we were talking about what does successful learning look like. One answer was, when the students surpasses the teacher. You definitely surpassed my crocheting skills long ago. :)

    • Thank you. I just searched for the lindamade blog and I recogonise her face from Ravelery- looking forward to browsing the pretty things there. By the way? I don’t have anything profound to say about your recent sad post, but the video I linked to is my offering to the pain in the world…

    • Hello again,

      I have created it not as an edging, but something to be sewn over top of the fabric, but it would look great as an edging and yes, as a runner as well. For a runner, you’d have to either sew strips together or re-work the stitch so that you’re creating more shells side-by-side at a time.

    • Hi Toni,

      I don’t mind you take inspiration from this piece as I have taken inspiration of previous pieces. Please do not publish this same design as yours and mention this design if you are basing yours on it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

