Inaugural Recipe

I picked up discounted shiitake mushrooms at the store and while walking home, realised I should check out my new cookbook.  Friends gave me Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian cookbook for my 30th and I had been laying in bed reading the recipes for a few weeks but hadn’t had the chance to try any.

It just so happened that I brought home a basil plant with me, which was listed as a substitute for curry leaves.  The dish was yummy and used the whole pack of mushrooms.

I’m pretty sure that I’m allowed to share a single recipe from a book, so here it is:

Stir-fried fresh shiitake mushrooms

4 tb olive oil

1 ts brown mustard seeds

15 fresh curry leaves

1-2 cloves garlic, peeled and lightly crushed

12 fresh shiitake mushrooms, stalks removed (I wasn’t going to waste the stalks, and used 16 musrooms)

1/4 ts salt or less

freshly ground black pepper

generous pinch of cayenne pepper

1-2 ts lemon juice

Put oil in pan on medium-high heat. When hot, put in mustard seeds. When they begin to pop, put in curry leaves. Stir and then put in garlic. Stir until garlic is golden. Add mushrooms and stir for around 1-2 minutes until they soften and are just cooked through.  Add salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper and lemon juice.  Toss to mix. Serves 2-3.  (page 107).

It was one serving for me. The mustard, basil, lemon and cayenne really complemented one another and the mushrooms. YUM.

3 thoughts on “Inaugural Recipe

Leave a Reply

