Scrap crochet

In Munich I spotted this crocheted scrap cardigan.  It drew my eye first because of the colours and then I realised it was crochet.  I don’t know anything about the store displaying it so I don’t know if it was a one-off for display, or if they are sold in the store.  I also don’t know if it is an exclusive store selling a few crafted in Germany or if it is a large chain selling many quickly created in forced working conditions.

I’m not sure if I would wear one if I ever completed it (and particularly not in the near future since I got rid of a whole charity shop bag of un-loved acrylic-y yarn last week) but it made me ponder trying this vest pattern again someday.

If nothing else, this cardigan looks cosy and warm.

3 thoughts on “Scrap crochet

  1. I am requesting permission to use the image on your website of the sweater made from scrap yarn in a book that I am writing entitled Peace Fibres: Stitching a Soulful World. In it, I enlist fibre work as metaphor and manifestation of harmonious relationship to self, others, and the larger world. I would use this photograph in a chapter on resilience and re-doing, re-cycling.

    Peace Fibres will be self published through Integral Press. I anticipate printing in early 2011, with an initial run of 1200.

    May I use this image? Please advise of any fees involved. I would, of course, cite your website as source.

    Thanks for considering my request. I look forward to your response.
    Respectfully,
    Karen Lohn

    “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; it’s the only thing that ever has…” – Margaret Mead

    • Hi Karen,
      I appreciate you contacting me for permission to use the image. Since I did not create the sweater in the photo, however, I cannot give permission to use the image of the creation in such a book.
      Unfortunately, I do not know the name of the shop in Germany for you to contact as I simply snapped the shot while walking past.
      Best,
      Riotflower

Leave a Reply

