Confessions and Simple Beauty

I have a confession to make. I hoard things. I don’t mean to, it just happens. Some of the reasons are:

1. I craft things. I never know what could be the finishing touch to a masterpiece (my family will recognise this from my childhood).

2. I am sentimental. I want to me a minimalist, but sentiment always gets in the way! I have gotten much better about not saving things ‘just because’ over the years.

3. I am an expat. They hoard for two reasons: a)Keeping every document or ounce of proof to maintain their visa or legal status where they have made their homes; b) having a ‘stash’ of hard to get food from their homeland, like cinnamon gum or root beer barrels, that are carefully rationed. They only get freely used when replacements will be easily acquired in the not-so-distant future.

Reason 3a is exactly why I hadn’t used Dr. Bronner’s peppermint soap for almost seven years. SEVEN. I poured some into a tiny bottle when I moved over here, with the intention of using it for camping. It is truly biodegradable, which means you can use it to wash in streams or rivers (although that would be a tad chilly here!) and not only is it perfect for soap and shampoo, it also cleans teeth. It is the perfect camping essential.

Dr. Bronner's castile soap peppermint

Cue a trip to Wales and an excited purchase of a teeny bottle at a health food store. It’s a recent import, according to several shops, and I can now get it in my town as well!

The reason I am telling you all this? Simple beauty. I switched to exclusively using this on my face five months ago and my usual dry winter skin made it through the season. Usually, my skin would crave heavy moisture, which would then make me break out. This year, it only asked for a bit of aloe gel for balance. With this soap, my entire beauty routine consists of Dr. Bronner’s soap, tea tree oil for the occasional spot and aloe gel for moisture. Simple beauty.

2 thoughts on “Confessions and Simple Beauty

  1. I’m so excited to see this! Recently I was on a fieldtrip with some work mates and one commented on my Dr Bronners bottle (how amusing it was to read in the shower). However, it is filled with my herbal hair conditioner, as I can’t get Dr Bronners over here but they make great travel bottles. But even more importantly, my skin is suffering terribly from the harsh water in communities and I’ve been desperate for a new, non-toxic, face wash option. Thus, I shall pick up a stash while in NJ next month. You’re gem, Chica! The peppermint one, you reckon?

    • *Always* the peppermint one for me! I would probably use lavender or the unscented ones (though don’t know if I’ve seen them here) on wee babies or small children, but loved the peppermint one as a larger child. When your stash runs out and you need some more, just give me a shout and I can post some to you!

Leave a Reply

