Real is What You Make it

Yesterday, there was a free concert all day in Glasgow, near where I work. While they organised it as part of the Queen’s Jubilee, free public concerts fit right in with my understanding of what’s on offer on Independence Day.

So after work, I ‘went native’: dancing in a continuous downpour at an outdoor summer concert. Listening to Elvis and the Beatles I sang along, smiling with strangers as the performers thanked us for sticking around. Rather than guitar picks or set lists, they handed out ponchos! The bright lights and joyous tones kept me there, reveling in play on the Fourth.

Until the skin on my fingers and toes started to shrivel, when the illusion was broken. Still, Elvis, the Beatles, and outdoor concerts on the 4th? With infinite experiences of one shared moment, real is what you make it and I had a great time!

2 thoughts on “Real is What You Make it

Leave a Reply

