Letting Go of the Past

20121215-165621.jpg

I am a proud lifetime member of the Girl Scouts USA. Ten years ago, I helped with the Girl Guides when I lived in St. Andrews for a year. When I left, I didn’t think I would be returning to Scotland and the uniform was useful to show Girl Scouts in the US what some of the patches their peers used in another part of the world. When I moved back to Scotland, I had to leave my two troops behind and was too busy studying to volunteer with a group anyway. I still don’t work with any Girl Guides and so this casual uniform has sat in my drawer for the past 8 years. I thought it was time to free the top by sending it to a charity shop in search of a new owner.

20121215-165825.jpg

20121215-165901.jpg

I have removed the patches to save, but this is what they looked like in situ.
This marks my entry into a new stage of decluttering: getting rid of things I love but do not use. I thought it would be much harder than the ‘don’t like, don’t use’ phase but the momentum is very motivating and it has not been difficult at all!

20121215-165930.jpg

Leave a Reply

