More Emoticon Hamlet

Over the weekend, we had two American guests. I took off work on Monday to wander with them and we headed to Glasgow. Roaming in areas outside of my usual work map led me to see three ‘new’ installations of Peter Drew’s Emoticon Hamlet piece (which I had originally called Shakespeare in Glasgow before finding out the artist). I was excited to come across these pieces and to share them with visitors; I really love them and they add something to our city scape.

Peter Drew's wheatpaste images Emoticon Hamlet.jpg

Peter Drew's wheatpaste images Emoticon Hamlet.jpg

Peter Drew's wheatpaste images Emoticon Hamlet.jpg
As I came into the city centre on the bus yesterday, I glanced at a wall that previously had a piece of the work up before it was removed. What I saw there, however, was a new piece! I jumped off the bus at the next corner and captured it. The artist was pressured to stop for several months while studying at the Glasgow School of Art and he has apparently completed his degree now, which means more beautiful work for us.

Peter Drew's wheatpaste images Emoticon Hamlet.jpg

Leave a Reply

