Marriage Equality in My Home State, Pennsylvania

Yesterday, my heart filled with excitement and hope to hear that a federal judge ruled that Pennsylvania’s ban on same-sex marriage was unconstitutional. I knew that the state could appeal it within 30 days and I spent today wondering how it would play out. Ultimately, I just hoped that there would be no challenge to pause the current celebrations and have Pennsylvanians wait longer to breathe a sigh of relief.

20140521-212830.jpg
Well, that sigh has turned to floods of tears in my household as we found out tonight that there will be no legal challenge to the decision: Pennsylvania has equal marriage!

After DOMA fell, I thought we would have another five years in PA but this comes less than a year later. Again, I get to readjust my options in the world. After I gained the right to have my wife recognised by the federal government, I couldn’t dream of living in my home state because it banned that recognition. Now, our options are open and I can be proud not only of the natural beauty in my state and the awesome people that live there, but of it becoming the 19th state in the country to equalize marriage.

3 thoughts on “Marriage Equality in My Home State, Pennsylvania

  1. I’m singing:

    She’ll be coming to Pennsylvania when she comes, when she comes,
    She’ll be coming to Pennsylvania when she comes, when she comes,
    She’ll be coming to Pennsylvania, She’ll be coming to Pennsylvania,
    She’ll be coming to Pennsylvania when she comes, when she comes…

    She’ll be flying 2 wide wings when she comes, when she comes,
    She’ll be flying 2 wide wings when she comes, when she comes,
    She’ll be flying 2 wide wings, She’ll be flying 2 wide wings,
    She’ll be flying 2 wide wings when she comes, when she comes…

    We’ll all come out to greet her when she comes, when she comes,
    We’ll all come out to greet her when she comes, when she comes,
    We’ll all come out to greet her, We’ll all go out to greet her,
    We’ll all come out to greet her when she comes…

    She’ll be carrying two black kitties when comes, etc…

    We will chill the old red wine when she comes, etc…

    We will all have beans & rice when she comes, etc…

    We’ll all be shoutin’ “Halleluja” when she comes, etc…

    🙂

Leave a Reply

