Purple Pole Beans

The rain finally stopped and on the way to the compost bin, I was surprised to see that our purple pole beans (Cosse Violette) were ready. The deep stalks dripping from the post made me do a double take until I realised that they were mature pods. Like a lot of our new varieties this year, these are from real seeds.

20140812-201751.jpg

20140812-201818.jpg
The ‘vines’ you see running horizontally along the top of the bean poles, are from the blackberry which has decided to grow 13-15 feet sideways. I’ll need to look into excessive branch growth and see what we can do about it.

2 comments

    • Thank you, we are too! I am still blown away by the tomatoes! I am getting nervous about being able to save the seeds though.

      I was surprised at how purple they ended up. They started off sort of purple but largely green when they were smaller.

Leave a Reply

