Almond Joy Energy Bites

On Saturday night, I tried these dark chocolate coconut protein balls. They taste like Almond Joys. Most photos I post from now until April will likely be ‘evening’ shots since we have now entered the dark season.
I modified the recipe this way: instead of 1/4 C chia, I used 1/4C mixed chia and flax seeds; used 1Tb cocoa powder and 2Tb carob powder because I ran out of cocoa powder but enjoyed the depth of flavour and varied nutrients that result; unsweetened protein powder (sprouted rice). The balls I made are sweet enough with the honey and I think that using flavoured or sweetened protein powder would just be too much.

20141101-192613.jpg
Next time, I’ll make a double batch.

Leave a Reply

