New Crochet Mittens

After leaving my mittens in Glasgow over the holidays, I thought it was time to just make myself a new pair. I used the thrummed mittens pattern in Hook, Stitch & Give but didn’t add the thrumming. After swatching with the thicker yarn I wanted to use, and adjusting for not needing the extra thrummed space, I followed the baby size to make a woman’s small. I made a few modifications for the hand part, but basically followed the pattern for the rest.

20141226-203828.jpg
Using 4.5mm and 5mm hooks and New Lanark DK wool yarn, I followed the pattern except for increasing by two on the 9th, 12th, 14th and 16th hand rounds, using the small/medium count for the thumb hole creation, and back to the baby’s size for the thumb rounds.

4 thoughts on “New Crochet Mittens

Leave a Reply

