Completing Another Crocheter’s Creation

A friend contacted me to ask me to complete a blanket that her aunt had made for her son before passing away. I was honoured that she would entrust this important project to me. Before she sent the blanket, she sent photos and I realised it was Tunisian crochet. I have done some basic Tunisian crochet before, but wasn’t immediately sure how to do this basket type pattern. After some googling, I found that it was Tunisian entrelac.

As I awaited the blanket in the post, I began to familiarize myself with the stitch. After a few blocks I realised that, unlike regular crochet, Tunisian crochet is single sided. Since I was completing someone else’s work and I would need to use the same ‘right side’, I would have to crochet right handed! Teaching my non-crochet hand this was a very slow process and my gauge was quite tight. When the blanket arrived, I was ready to add on to the stitches but had to go up three mm hook sizes to match the existing stitches with my amateur hand. I crocheted about 3/4 of the outer block layer, did a single crochet edge, and wove in the ends

Entrelac Tunisian Crochet baby blanket

It was an interesting process, completing someone’s creative investment. Generally, when I crochet something, I think about the recipient. This time, I thought about the original crocheter and imagined her making the blanket and pouring her love into her gift. I’m glad I could help her gift become the completed blanket she envisioned.

4 thoughts on “Completing Another Crocheter’s Creation

Leave a Reply

