Thanksgiving Greetings

Today is Scottish Thanksgiving. At the very beginning of the month, I had a ‘crafternoon’ making Thanksgiving cards. It has been years since I sent cards to family on Thanksgiving, and I felt the need for that tradition this year. I made them early to send to our American family (and family in France) and held off posting to our Scottish family for a week or so to make the arrival time more appropriate.  

I made a stack of cards and filled them with one of the following five quotes:

Gratitude is the sign of noble souls. ~Aesop

I don’t want to just list the stuff I’m grateful for. I want to bathe in it. I want my heart to burst open with the joy of it all. ~Christine Kane

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. ~Melody Beattie

Happiness is not what makes us grateful. It is gratefulness that makes us happy. ~David Steindal-Rast

The real gift of gratitude is that the more grateful you are, the more present you become. ~Robert Holden

It was hugely satisfying to sit in reflection making the cards and to know that my loved ones would receive a little reminder of love and gratitude.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Greetings

  1. I too send a wish to my family in the way of a card. I made 13 Christmas cards, added a stamp, and mailed them as a package for each person to choose a handmade card to send to a special someone. I loved putting it together.

    • What a cute idea! I plan on making Christmas cards again this year. For a few years, we sent charity cards but everyone has now received the same card at least once so it’s time to create variety!

Leave a Reply

