Artful Mending

Although my play jeans have grown with me over the past year, they’ve begun to wear through. In my late teens and early twenties, my favourite jeans became a network of patches over time. And I loved them.

When looking for mending inspiration, I was captivated by the ideas of visible mending, artful mending, and Japanese boro and sashiko stitching.

Since I wanted to feel secure and have confidence that extra fabric really is there in the crotch area, I put the rectangle of fabric inside rather than outside (as common in boro techniques) of the jeans. I pinned it in place and then started stitching.

image

I used two colours of blue embroidery floss (for greater compatability with future patches) and took my time, finding pleasure in the process as well as the outcome.

Leave a Reply

