Pockets Full (of Love)

As I prepared for a work conference this week, I thought ahead to the 8+ hours I’d be spending on trains on the trip down. Not wanting to risk corrupting my single train ticket by keeping it close to my phone, I thought about where I would put my phone. My trouser pockets, being part of a pair of women’s trousers, were unbelievably inadequate. My phone only fit 1/3 of the way into the front or the back. 

On Saturday night, it finally occurred to me to do something about that and I grabbed my sewing machine and some poplin fabric. I cut the fabric 6 1/2 inches wide, and 16 inches long for 8 inch pockets. 

With the trousers inside out, I trimmed the bottom hem from each pocket, and snipped up at the side seam about an inch on the side attached to the trousers. Then, I pinned the pocket fabric to the back of the pocket, with seam on the outside. I sewed that with a straight stitch before pinning and sewing the front of the pocket. I did the same thing with the second pocket before using a straight stitch up each pocket side. To make sure it was secure, I did a zigzag stitch all the way around the seams. 

Now, my pockets are useable! When I tried them on and put my phone in all the way, I did an extended victory dance around the parlor in delight. I questioned why I didn’t make this very simile change years ago. 

My favorite thing in these new pockets right now is this note Sunshine handed to me at breakfast before I left. ♥️

Leave a comment